Syllabus for The Second Eight Required Hours Concealed Carry Class
Our Guarantee - You don't qualify - You don't pay! **
The Second Eight
Is designed as a stand alone course for those who have at least
eight hours of credit toward the required sixteen hours of training for
an Illinois Concealed Carry permit under the Firearms Concealed Carry
Act of 2013. It will both meet the required minimums of the State
standard, as well as serve as a useful refresher for those who's
credited training may be somewhat remote.
- Further, this course will satisfy the
training requirements for a non-resident concealed carry permit in
Florida. Florida non-resident application packets will be available.
Instructor: Bruce Badger (NRA Certified Pistol, Illinois Certified FCCA Instructor)
Classroom Location: to be announced
Range: to be announced
Course Length: 8 hours (8 AM to about 4:00 PM)
- Law-abiding adult citizen
- Teachable Attitude
- You must be over 21 years old to apply for a CCL though you may take this class before that birthday.
- Those less than 21 years old must be accompanied by a parent or guardian also enrolled in the same class.
- Qualifier(s) for at least eight hours of credit under the FCCA (one or more)
The Isp has approved the following prior training for credit toward the mandated 16 hours. They are listed followed by the number of hours credited.
- Illinois Hunter Safety Course - 4 hrs
- Utah Concealed Carry - 4 hrs
- Florida Concealed Carry - 4 hrs
- Nevada Concealed Carry - 4 hrs
- Missouri Concealed Carry - 4 hrs
- Kentucky Concealed Carry - 4 hrs
- Michigan Concealed Carry - 4 hrs
- Chicago Firearms Safety Course - 4 hrs
- NRA Basic Pistol - 8 hrs
- NRA Personal Protection Inside the Home - 8 hrs
- NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home - 8 hrs
- Honorable Discharge (DD214) - 8 hrs
- These may be combined for a total of eight hours maximum. In other
words if you have completed a Hunter Safety Course and have a Utah
permit, you will be credited eight hours of prior training.
- You must also complete at least the last eight hours of Illinois mandated training to apply for a CCL.
- The state has approved NO classes for those with only a four hour
credit. Some trainers have expressed an intention to teach 4 hour or 12
hour classes to accommodate those individuals. While I admire their
intentions, please be aware the ISP rules have made no such
accommodation. To comply with the rules as currently written, you must
either take a class that meets the four hour requirement, or take the
entire sixteen hour course.
The Second Eight - Illinois Carry CLIC
Part I: Introduction to Firearms
Part II: Introduction to FOID
Part III: Introduction to Federal Firearm Law
Part IV: Introduction to Illinois Firearms Transportation Law
Part V: Introduction to Firearm Concealed Carry Act
Part VI: Introduction to Law Enforcement Officer Interaction
Part VII: Justifiable Use of Force
Part VIII: Drawing From Concealment
Part IX: Live Fire - The FUN Part!
- Rules on the range
- Response to RO's Commands
- Student shall fire at least 30 rounds
- 10 rounds from 5 yards
- 10 rounds from 7 yards
- 10 rounds 10 yards
- Student must demonstrate the following:
- Load, unload, cock, de-cock, fire, make safe the firearm, while handling the firearm safely
- B-27 silhouette target
- 70% score required for certificate of completion
Copyright © 2013 Real Gun Control